Book Review for A DANGEROUS DUET by Karen Odden

A DANGEROUS DUET by Karen Odden
William Morrow Paperbacks
☕ ☕ ☕ ☕
My Highly Caffeinated Thought: A vivid and engaging novel packed with music, emotion, and a few crimes most foul.

A DANGEROUS DUET is just the type of historical intrigue I enjoy sitting down with on a cold fall day. This Victorian era novel has the right amount of heart, dastardly actions, and the authenticity of the time period.

Book Review for A DANGEROUS DUET by Karen Odden

As you may or may not know based on any of my previous reviews, I love a good historical fiction novel. If you can combine a mystery with historical accuracy, then you have just made my day. Odden brilliantly brought to life Nell Hallam and the full cast of characters I was greeted with while reading. The eloquence of the author’s words combined with a story told at the correct pace was perfection.

If you are a fan of the Veronica Speedwell Mysteries, the Below Stairs Mysteries, or Anne Perry, this is a must read for you. Odden is a new to me author, so I wasn’t sure what I would get. However, I will certainly be looking for her next release.

Reviewer Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the publisher and TLC Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.


This dazzling new Victorian mystery from USA Today bestselling author Karen Odden introduces readers to Nell Hallam, a determined young pianist who stumbles upon the operations of a notorious—and deadly—crime ring while illicitly working as the piano player in a Soho music hall. Perfect for readers of Tasha Alexander, Anne Perry, and Deanna Raybourn.

Nineteen-year-old Nell Hallam lives in a modest corner of Mayfair with her brother Matthew, an inspector at Scotland Yard. An exceptionally talented pianist, she aspires to attend the Royal Academy; but with tuition beyond their means, Nell sets out to earn the money herself—by playing piano in a popular Soho music hall. And the fact that she will have to disguise herself as a man and slip out at night to do it doesn’t deter her.

Spending evenings at the Octavian is like entering an alternate world, one of lively energy, fascinating performers, raucous patrons—and dark secrets. And when Nell stumbles upon the operations of an infamous crime ring working in the shadows of the music hall, she is drawn into a conspiracy that stretches the length of London. To further complicate matters, she has begun to fall for the hall owner's charismatic son, Jack, who has secrets of his own.

The more Nell becomes a part of the Octavian’s world, the more she risks the relationships with the people she loves. And when another performer is left for dead in an alley as a warning, she realizes her future could be in jeopardy in more ways than one.

ADD TO GOODREADS
Find the book on HarperCollins, Amazon, and Barnes & Noble.

About the Author: KAREN ODDEN received her PhD in English literature from New York University and has taught at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee and the University of Michigan-Ann Arbor. She currently serves as an assistant editor for the academic journal Victorian Literature and Culture. Her debut novel, A Lady in the Smoke, was a USA Today bestseller.


Book Details:

Paperback: 416 pages
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks (November 6, 2018)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0062796968
ISBN-13: 978-0062796967

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.