Book Reivew for AMERICAN ROYALS by Katharine McGee

AMERICAN ROYALS by Katharine McGee
American Royals Series, Book 1
Random House Books for Young Readers
☕ ☕ ☕ ☕
My Highly Caffeinated Thought: A juicy, fun, and addictive read.

AMERICAN ROYALS is an utterly delightful look into the royal family that never was. McGee gifts her readers with a great cast of characters you will love and love to hate. It has been a while since I have sat down with a non-mystery book so entertaining, uniquely refreshing, and downright binge-able.

AmericanRoyals-Insta-1.jpg

If you are like me, then you love stories that at their core are about the characters and their development. Within the pages of this book, you will get this and more. By the author writing multiple perspectives, the reader gets to see the whole picture. It never once becomes too much or confusing. Everything blends seamlessly into a vignette of what it is like to be American royalty.

The only negative about this book was that I was expecting the story to wrap up when I finished it. At the time when I read it, I didn’t know it was going to be a series. Now that I do, I am excited to see the direction all the characters can go in.

Now, I usually don’t recommend teen/young adult books to everyone, but AMERICAN ROYALS stands its ground as a positively charming read for all ages. It has it all. It has secret love affairs and scheming exes. It has the struggles to be whom everyone expects you to be, and the burdens placed on those in power. It has jealousy over the crown and over what is perceived to be had. It has true love, loss, and some cheekiness is thrown in there for fun.

I cannot wait to see what the royal family is going to do now!

Reviewer Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. However, I did buy the eBook version of this book for my own library.


What if America had a royal family? If you can't get enough of Harry and Meghan or Kate and William, meet American princesses Beatrice and Samantha. Perfect for fans of Red, White, and Royal Blue and The Royal We!

Two princesses vying for the ultimate crown.
Two girls vying for the prince's heart.
This is the story of the American royals.

When America won the Revolutionary War, its people offered General George Washington a crown. Two and a half centuries later, the House of Washington still sits on the throne. Like most royal families, the Washingtons have an heir and a spare. A future monarch and a backup battery. Each child knows exactly what is expected of them. But these aren't just any royals. They're American.

As Princess Beatrice gets closer to becoming America's first queen regnant, the duty she has embraced her entire life suddenly feels stifling. Nobody cares about the spare except when she's breaking the rules, so Princess Samantha doesn't care much about anything, either . . . except the one boy who is distinctly off-limits to her. And then there's Samantha's twin, Prince Jefferson. If he'd been born a generation earlier, he would have stood first in line for the throne, but the new laws of succession make him third. Most of America adores their devastatingly handsome prince . . . but two very different girls are vying to capture his heart.

The duty. The intrigue. The Crown. New York Times bestselling author Katharine McGee imagines an alternate version of the modern world, one where the glittering age of monarchies has not yet faded--and where love is still powerful enough to change the course of history.

ADD TO GOODREADS
Find the book on Amazon.

About the Author: KATHARINE MCGEE is the New York Times bestselling author of The Thousandth Floor trilogy. She studied English and French literature at Princeton University and has an MBA from Stanford. She now lives in Houston, Texas, with her husband.


Book Details:

Series: American Royals Series (Book 1)
Hardcover: 448 pages
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers (September 3, 2019)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1984830171
ISBN-13: 978-1984830173

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.