Book Review for The King Arthur Trilogy Book One: Dragon’s Child

A King Arthur tale like no other I have read.

When I received my galley in the mail for M.K. Hume''s first book in the King Arthur Trilogy, I have to admit that it went right to my bookshelf. I knew I would read it, but it was the "when" that I was having trouble figuring out. Then one night, I could not get through the book I had been reading, for what seemed like forever. I put down the other book and decided to give the "Dragon''s Child" a try. Why not right? Well...I was hooked within the first 10 pages.

The theme is nothing new. I have read and seen countless books about King Arthur, but there is something about M.K.''s writing that adds a new layer to the tale. I have a feeling it has something to do with her studies in Arthurian literature, but her gift to weave together the story of a young Artorex and bring him into adulthood is remarkable to me. With every page turn there is another layer of Artorex that the reader gets to know. As I was reading, I felt as if I was getting to know the legend himself. How he was molded in the figure that all of us know.

Now, I am not a fan of battle scenes in books. I instantly flash back to 11th grade history class. However, the depiction of Artorex's first attack with the Scum is great! I love the characters that are brought into the story and how it gives these otherwise grungy figures a purpose and something to be proud of. While reading this chapter, I knew that I was a new fan of Hume''s work.

And then there are the other characters in the book. Some I knew would be in the book: Uther, Merlin, and Morgan. And then there are the characters that I love (and love to hate). Livinia, Frith, Gallia, Lord Ector, Targo, and Casius all shape the story of who Arthur will become. It shows the "back story," but is is some of the characters that are in the end of the book (Gallwyn and Nimue) that I can''t wait to see again in book 2 and 3.

Needless to say, I am anxiously awaiting the arrival of the next to books. I may even need to get the Merlin Trilogy.

Highly Caffeinated Rating of… ☕ ☕ ☕ ☕ ☕

About the Book:

From the author of The Merlin Prophecy, a trilogy that Kirkus Reviews proclaimed, will “appeal to those who thrill to Game of Thrones,” the first installment in the action-packed trilogy of battles, romance, and bravery during the Dark Ages is the tale of the boy destined to become King Arthur.

The Dark Ages: a time of chaos and bloodshed. The Roman legions have long deserted the isles and the despotic Uther Pendragon, High King of Celtic Britain, is nearing death. As the tyrant falters, his kingdom is being torn apart by the minor kings who jostle for his throne. But only one man can bring the Celts together as a nation and restore peace – King Arthur.

We meet Arthur first as a shy, subservient twelve-year-old living in the home of Lord Ector, who took in the boy when he was a babe to protect him from murderous kin. One day, three influential men arrive at Ector’s villa and arrange for Arthur to be taught the skills of the warrior: blade and shield, horse and fire, pain and bravery.

When they return years later, the country is in desperate straits, for the great cities of the east are falling to the menace of the Saxon hordes.

In spite of Uther, Arthur becomes a war chieftain and wins many battles to earn him the trust of his Celtic warriors and prove that he alone can unite the tribes. But if he is to fulfill his destiny and become the High King, Arthur must find Uther’s crown and sword.

The future of Britain is at stake.

Find the book on Amazon.

About the Author: Marilyn K. Hume is an Australian author, born in 1948, and based in Brisbane, Australia.

Hume graduated as a teacher in 1967, specializing in Art and Ancient History before commencing teaching high school students. While teaching, she studied university courses as an external student in English and Ancient History. Along the way, Hume obtained a BA, an MA, a Master of Literary Studies degree and a Phd in Arthurian Literature.

In 1996, Hume was encouraged to enter an historical romance writing competition conducted by the Random House Publishing Group under the sponsorship of a popular women’s magazine. Hume had no interest in romance writing, but she dashed off a novel based on her family history. The novel won second prize from a massive field of recognised authors - and she won $5,000 for her efforts.

In 2007, Hume retired from the Queensland Education Department, and immediately commenced to write a trilogy based on the life and times of King Arthur of Britain.

Hume’s agent, the Dorie Simmonds Agency in London, brokered a contract with Headline Review to publish the three books in the trilogy. This agreement soon became six books, for Hume soon produced a further trilogy on the life and times of Merlin, which is now a prequel to the Arthurian trilogy.

Her works are now published at six-monthly intervals, and the author maintains a punishing schedule involving eight hours of research and/or writing every day. She doesn’t believe that there is any such thing as ‘writer’s block’, and loves the whole creative process.

Hume intends to write at least 30 novels before ‘she drops off the perch’. She reads voraciously and adores meeting friends, attending rummage sales, making porcelain dolls and painting portraits.

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.