Book Review for BREATHE IN, CASH OUT by Madeleine Henry

BREATHE IN, CASH OUT by Madeleine Henry
Atria Books
☕ ☕ ☕ + 1/2
My Highly Caffeinated Thought: An honest look at one woman’s journey to becoming who she was always meant to be.

BREATHE IN, CASH OUT is a light read about one woman’s quest to finally be able to live out her dream of being a yoga teacher. In this debut, Henry establishes a unique voice that allows the reader to see behind the curtain of the finance and the yogi worlds. 

* Book Review for BREATHE IN, CASH OUT by Madeleine Henry *

Here is the thing. This is a good book, but I just wanted more. It is because I loved Allegra so much. I got where she was coming from, and I found her extremely relatable. However, as I was reading, I had the sense that the author was holding back or not sure of how far to push certain characters and storylines. Henry gives us all the components for a classic women’s fiction novel but takes a while to get there. The humor could have been heightened a bit, and there was just something missing in the beginning half of the book.

I will say this. If you stick with this one (and you should), the last quarter of the story truly is the best part. Everything comes to the breaking point, and all the drama carefully built throughout all the previous chapters finally gets good. Even though I wanted more, I can honestly say that I am looking forward to the author’s next release. So…if you like a lighter read following a woman figuring out her life, this is one for you.

Reviewer Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.


In this sizzling debut for fans of The Devil Wears Prada, Wall Street banking analyst Allegra Cobb plans to quit the minute her year-end bonus hits her account, finally pursuing her yoga career full-time. But when she forms an intense relationship with the #InstaFamous guru who may hold the ticket to the life Allegra's always wanted—she's not sure if she'll be able to keep her sanity intact (and her chakras aligned) until bonus day.

Allegra Cobb’s resume: Straight-A Princeton grad, second-year analyst at a top-tier bank, one-time American Yoga National Competition Champion. Allegra Cobb’s reality: Spends twenty-four hours a day changing the colors on bar charts, overusing the word “team,” and daydreaming about quitting the minute her year-end bonus hits her account. She has no interest in the cutthroat banking world—she’s going to launch her very own yoga practice.

But her plan isn’t quite as perfect as the beachfront yoga pictures she double-taps on Instagram. On top of the 100 emails an hour and coworkers already suspicious of her escape plan, Allegra's hard-driving single father has always expected fiercely high achievement above all else. That his daughter works on Wall Street means everything to him. Still, she marches on, taking it day by extremely caffeinated day.

But after (1) unknowingly sleeping with the man now leading her banking cohort on one of their biggest deals to date and (2) meeting the #blessed yoga guru who might just be her ticket to the life she’s always wanted, it really hits her: her happy-ever-after will be harder to manifest than she thought.

Fast-paced, laugh-out-loud funny, and totally irresistible, this is the story of a fearless young woman determined to center herself in the life she truly wants.

ADD TO GOODREADS
Find the book on Amazon.

About the Author: Madeleine Henry worked at Goldman Sachs and in investment management in New York City. She graduated from Yale in 2014 where she wrote comedy for The Yale Record, America’s oldest college humor magazine. Now working on her second novel, she shares more information about her life, writing, and yoga practice on @MadeleineHenryYoga. Breathe In, Cash Out is her debut.


Book Details:

Hardcover: 304 pages
Publisher: Atria Books (July 9, 2019)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1982114533
ISBN-13: 978-1982114534 

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.