Book Review for THE BOY AT THE KEYHOLE by Stephen Giles

THE BOY AT THE KEYHOLE by Stephen Giles
Hanover Square Press
☕ ☕ ☕ ☕ ☕
My Highly Caffeinated Thought: A hauntingly tense thriller with all the best elements of historical fiction.

THE BOY AT THE KEYHOLE was a complete and utter surprise for me. This extremely smart and intense narrative pulled me in with the premise. However, what kept me reading was the characters and the ever-looming questions of what exactly going on in this house.

Book Review for THE BOY AT THE KEYHOLE by Stephen Giles

This is the story of a boy who is convinced his housekeeper murdered his mother. It is one that will captivate, shock, and send you on a ride questioning just about everything. There is something so perfect in the way Giles unravels this story. The mystery is enhanced by the expressive writing as well as the atmosphere set through the descriptions of the estate. There are elements which read as a ghost story, but then the reader is thrust back into the reality of Samuel's day to day life. This constant push and pull between what is and what could be kept me on the edge of my seat.

When I talk about books, it is rare for me not to want to sit down and write countless sentences describing the plot or the vibe of the story. Yet, from time to time, one of my reads is so good that I just can't tell you how much I loved it. THE BOY AT THE KEYHOLE is such a book. All I will say is read it. Judge it for yourself. I know how much I enjoyed my time spent within these pages and can only hope you do too.

Reviewer Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the publisher and TLC Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.


For fans of Shirley Jackson, Sarah Waters and Daphne du Maurier, an electrifying debut about a boy left alone in his family’s English estate with a housekeeper he suspects has murdered his mother

Nine-year-old Samuel lives alone in a once-great estate in Surrey with the family’s housekeeper, Ruth. His father is dead and his mother has been abroad for months, purportedly tending to her late husband’s faltering business. She left in a hurry one night while Samuel was sleeping and did not say goodbye.

Beyond her sporadic postcards, Samuel hears nothing from his mother. He misses her dearly and maps her journey in an atlas he finds in her study. Samuel’s life is otherwise regulated by Ruth, who runs the house with an iron fist. Only she and Samuel know how brutally she enforces order.

As rumors in town begin to swirl, Samuel wonders whether something more sinister is afoot. Perhaps his mother did not leave but was murdered—by Ruth.

Artful, haunting and hurtling toward a psychological showdown, The Boy at the Keyhole is an incandescent debut about the precarious dance between truth and perception, and the shocking acts that occur behind closed doors.

ADD TO GOODREADS
Find the book on Amazon, Books-A-Million, and Barnes & Noble.

About the Author: Stephen Giles is the author behind the Ivy Pocket children's series, which has been translated into twenty-five languages. He lives in Australia. The Boy at the Keyhole is his first work for adults.


Book Details:

 Hardcover: 304 pages
Publisher: Hanover Square Press; Original edition (September 4, 2018)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1335652922
ISBN-13: 978-1335652928

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.