Book Review for THE EIGHTH SISTER by Robert Dugoni

THE EIGHTH SISTER by Robert Dugoni
Charles Jenkins Series, Book 1
Thomas & Mercer
☕ ☕ ☕ ☕
My Highly Caffeinated Thought: A spy thriller with an intricate plot, exciting action, and a bit of heart.

THE EIGHTH SISTER is espionage at its best. I have long loved the books of Dugoni, but this one was something completely different. This fast-paced thriller takes you all over the map as you navigate through duplicitous acts, secrets, and the legal ramifications of a bad Op. 


For me, there are certain aspects I crave in a spy novel. I want the book to have engaging characters, double-dealing, and a grandiose travel landscape. I want to feel the tensions and experience the action as if I were there. With this novel, I had all of that. Instantly, I was thrust into this world of intelligence and counter-intelligence through the eyes of Charles Jenkins. At times, there were a lot of crazy things happening, but it was his character grounded the story for me. Then you add to it, the Russia factor and everything just got so much better. I mean come on…we all need a bit of Russian intrigue in our lives. At least I do!

If you are a fan of Robert Ludlum’s work, I highly suggest you take a look at this book. There are nuances and intricacies within this story you will no doubt love. I cannot wait for book two! 

Reviewer Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the publisher and TLC Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.

A pulse-pounding thriller of espionage, spy games, and treachery by the New York Times bestselling author of the Tracy Crosswhite Series.

Former CIA case officer Charles Jenkins is a man at a crossroads: in his early sixties, he has a family, a new baby on the way, and a security consulting business on the brink of bankruptcy. Then his former bureau chief shows up at his house with a risky new assignment: travel undercover to Moscow and locate a Russian agent believed to be killing members of a clandestine US spy cell known as the seven sisters.

Desperate for money, Jenkins agrees to the mission and heads to the Russian capital. But when he finds the mastermind agent behind the assassinations—the so-called eighth sister—she is not who or what he was led to believe. Then again, neither is anyone else in this deadly game of cat and mouse.

Pursued by a dogged Russian intelligence officer, Jenkins executes a daring escape across the Black Sea, only to find himself abandoned by the agency he serves. With his family and freedom at risk, Jenkins is in the fight of his life—against his own country.

Find the book on Amazon, Books-A-Million, and Barnes & Noble

About the Author: Robert Dugoni is the critically acclaimed New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Amazon bestselling author of the Tracy Crosswhite Series, which has sold more than 4 million books worldwide. He is also the author of the bestselling David Sloane Series; the stand-alone novels The 7th Canon, Damage Control, and The Extraordinary Life of Sam Hell, for which he won an AudioFile Earphones Award for the narration; and the nonfiction exposé The Cyanide Canary, a Washington Post Best Book of the Year. He is the recipient of the Nancy Pearl Award for Fiction and the Friends of Mystery Spotted Owl Award for best novel set in the Pacific Northwest. He is a two-time finalist for the International Thriller Award, the Harper Lee Prize for Legal Fiction, the Silver Falchion Award for mystery, and the Mystery Writers of America Edgar Award. His books are sold in more than twenty-five countries and have been translated into more than two dozen languages.

Book Details:

Series: Charles Jenkins (Book 1)
Hardcover: 465 pages
Publisher: Thomas & Mercer (April 9, 2019)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1503903036
ISBN-13: 978-1503903036 

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.