Book Review for THE HUNTING PARTY by Lucy Foley

THE HUNTING PARTY by Lucy Foley
William Morrow
☕ ☕ ☕ ☕ ☕
My Highly Caffeinated Thought: A tense atmospheric mystery taking you into the complicated world of lies and deceit.

Though I would never want to go on a trip with any of the characters in this book, THE HUNTING PARTY takes its reader on a vacation to remember. Foley has created such a wonderfully moody and smart thriller that I dare you not to binge read it.

Book Review for THE HUNTING PARTY by Lucy Foley

Here is the thing about this book. It works on so many levels. It has the intense and complicated interpersonal relationships of this group of friends. It has the haunting and omnipresent back stories of Heather and Doug, the caregivers in this estate. It has a murder of a character we don’t know the identity of until you are further into the story. Then to put the cherry on top, there is a snowstorm stranding everyone and making it very difficult for the police to arrive. I mean…come on! How good is that?!?! It is a truly addictive story.

With intelligent plotting, eloquent writing, and slow-burning suspense, THE HUNTING PARTY is a phenomenal read. It allows the reader to be part of the investigation while still learning all the pieces of the puzzle. The twists, turns, and well-placed misdirections are only made better by the setting surrounding this murder mystery.

Reviewer Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the publisher and TLC Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.


ALL OF THEM ARE FRIENDS. ONE OF THEM IS A KILLER.

“A ripping, riveting murder mystery — wily as Agatha Christie, charged with real menace, real depth. Perfect for fans of Ruth Ware.” – A.J. Finn, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window

During the languid days of the Christmas break, a group of thirtysomething friends from Oxford meet to welcome in the New Year together, a tradition they began as students ten years ago. For this vacation, they’ve chosen an idyllic and isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands—the perfect place to get away and unwind by themselves.

The trip began innocently enough: admiring the stunning if foreboding scenery, champagne in front of a crackling fire, and reminiscences about the past. But after a decade, the weight of secret resentments has grown too heavy for the group’s tenuous nostalgia to bear. Amid the boisterous revelry of New Year’s Eve, the cord holding them together snaps.

Now, on New Year’s Day, one of them is dead . . . and another of them did it.

DON’T BE LEFT OUT. JOIN THE PARTY NOW.

ADD TO GOODREADS
Find the book on HarperCollins, Amazon, and Barnes & Noble.

About the Author: LUCY FOLEY is a former editor at Hodder Fiction and has been both a literary agent and a bookseller. An avid painter, she now writes full time and lives in London, England.


Book Details:

Hardcover: 336 pages
Publisher: William Morrow (February 12, 2019)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 006286890X
ISBN-13: 978-0062868909 

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.