Book Review for THE WOMAN IN THE LAKE by Nicola Cornick

THE WOMAN IN THE LAKE by Nicola Cornick
Graydon House
☕ ☕ ☕ ☕
My Highly Caffeinated Thought: A carefully woven tale of love, pain, and deceit.

THE WOMAN IN THE LAKE is a multilayered story rich in history and intrigue. Cornick vividly melds together the past and the present in such a way that the reader cannot help but become swept away.

Book Review for THE WOMAN IN THE LAKE by Nicola Cornick

What I loved about this book is how the past and the present so closely mirrored each other without it becoming trite. There was something captivating about how both Fen’s and Lady Isabella Gerard’s lives were tormented by abuse, but neither let it break them. In truth, it is just as much a story about resilience and female empowerment as it is the eerily magical golden dress.

If you are like me and enjoy a story filled with history, mystery, and a bit of romance, THE WOMAN IN THE LAKE is one you should definitely read. The story will enchant you and the writing will make it effortless to finish this book.

Reviewer Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the publisher and TLC Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.


From the bestselling author of House of Shadows and The Phantom Tree comes a spellbinding tale of jealousy, greed, plotting and revenge—part history, part mystery—for fans of Kate Morton, Susanna Kearsley and Barbara Erskine

London, 1765

Lady Isabella Gerard, a respectable member of Georgian society, orders her maid to take her new golden gown and destroy it, its shimmering beauty tainted by the actions of her brutal husband the night before.

Three months later, Lord Gerard stands at the shoreline of the lake, looking down at a woman wearing the golden gown. As the body slowly rolls over to reveal her face, it’s clear this was not his intended victim…

250 Years Later…

When a gown she stole from a historic home as a child is mysteriously returned to Fenella Brightwell, it begins to possess her in exactly the same way that it did as a girl. Soon the fragile new life Fen has created for herself away from her abusive ex-husband is threatened at its foundations by the gown’s power over her until she can't tell what is real and what is imaginary.

As Fen uncovers more about the gown and Isabella’s story, she begins to see the parallels with her own life. When each piece of history is revealed, the gown—and its past—seems to possess her more and more, culminating in a dramatic revelation set to destroy her sanity.

ADD TO GOODREADS
Find the book on Amazon, Books-A-Million, and Barnes & Noble.

About the Author: International bestselling author Nicola Cornick writes historical romance for HQN Books and time slip romance for MIRA UK. She became fascinated with history when she was a child, and spent hours poring over historical novels and watching costume drama. She studied history at university and wrote her master’s thesis on heroes. Nicola also acts as a historical advisor for television and radio. In her spare time she works as a guide in a 17th century mansion.


Book Details:

Paperback: 320 pages
Publisher: Graydon House; Original edition (February 26, 2019)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1525823558
ISBN-13: 978-1525823558

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.