Book Review for PLAYING WITH MATCHES by Hannah Orenstein

PLAYING WITH MATCHES by Hannah Orenstein
Touchstone
☕ ☕ ☕ ☕
My Highly Caffeinated Thought: A clever and fun romantic comedy brimming with heart.

PLAYING WITH MATCHES is a wonderful escape into world of right-swipes, matchmaking, and the New York city dating scene. Sasha is one of those character's you will pull for as she figures out her life. Added bonus, the cooky and demanding clients she works with will bring levity as well as give us all something to think about as they search for their quest for love.

Book Review for PLAYING WITH MATCHES by Hannah Orenstein

What I truly enjoyed about the book is the author's voice. Orenstein gives her reader a cast of flawed characters which you can't help but want to get to know better. Their lives are packed with the ups and downs we all know too well. Though the wit and fun nature of the book will no doubt captivate many, I was hit with the honesty and underlining message of the book. After all, a romantic coming of age novel isn't at its best if the author doesn't shed light on some of the pressures of society and what we put on ourselves. And this, my book loving friends, is a rom-com at its best.

Reviewer Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.


In the tradition of Good in Bed and The Assistants comes a funny and smart comedy about a young matchmaker balancing her messy personal life and the demands of her eccentric clients.

Sasha Goldberg has a lot going for her: a recent journalism degree from NYU, an apartment with her best friend Caroline, and a relationship that would be amazing if her finance-bro boyfriend Jonathan would ever look up from his BlackBerry. But when her dream career falls through, she uses her family’s darkest secret to land a job as a matchmaker for New York City’s elite at the dating service Bliss.

Despite her inexperience, Sasha throws herself into her new career, trolling for catches on Tinder, coaching her clients through rejection, and dishing out dating advice to people twice her age. She sets up a TV exec who wanted kids five years ago, a forty-year-old baseball-loving virgin, and a consultant with a rigorous five-page checklist for her ideal match.

Sasha hopes to find her clients The One, like she did. But when Jonathan betrays her, she spirals out of control—and right into the arms of a writer with a charming Southern drawl, who she had previously set up with one of her clients. He’s strictly off-limits, but with her relationship on the rocks, all bets are off.

Fresh, sweet, and laugh-out-loud funny, Playing with Matches is the addictive story about dating in today’s swipe-heavy society, and a young woman trying to find her own place in the world.

ADD TO GOODREADS
Find the book on Amazon.

About the Author: Hannah Orenstein is a writer and editor in New York. She's the dating editor at Elite Daily. Previously, she was a writer at Seventeen.com. At twenty-one, she became the youngest matchmaker at an elite dating service. She was born and raised in Boston, studied journalism and history at NYU, and lives in Manhattan with her fat cat, Eloise.


Book Details:

Paperback: 320 pages
Publisher: Touchstone (June 26, 2018)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1501178482
ISBN-13: 978-1501178481

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.