Book Review for TWO STEPS FORWARD by Graeme Simsion and Anne Buist

TWO STEPS FORWARD by Graeme Simsion and Anne Buist
William Morrow Paperbacks
☕ ☕ ☕ ☕
My Highly Caffeinated Thought:
A wonderfully sincere story about love, loss, and how one very long journey can change a person’s perspective on everything in their life.

TWO STEPS FORWARD will take you on a pilgrimage filled self-discovery and personal enlightenment. In the tradition of so many books before it, Graeme Simsion and Anne Buist have crafted a tale which is more about the people than the physical journey they take. The Chemin brought into my bookish world heartfelt emotion, real-life issues, and a bit of humor as it changed the characters I have grown fond of in these pages.

TwoStepsForward-Insta-1.jpg

Countless times while reading, I was struck by how endearing the characters of Zoe and Martin were. These two could not be more different, but when they came together, I wanted to see what would develop. I would be remiss not to mention how fabulous all the side characters were. The quirkiness of the people Zoe and Martin met on their trek rounded out the experience for me as a reader. From beginning to end, Simsion and Buist wove together such a wonderful story.

This book is perfect for fans of EAT, PRAY, LOVE by Elizabeth Gilbert, THE CANTERBURY SISTERS by Kim Wright, UNDER THE TUSCAN SUN by Frances Mayes, and BRITT-MARIE WAS HERE by Fredrik Backman. It will tug at your heart and give you a few laughs along the way. However, most importantly, it show the reader that if you are willing to take the first step, you could change anything.

Reviewer Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the publisher and TLC Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.


Synopsis:

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Rosie Project comes a story of taking chances and learning to love again as two people, one mourning her husband and the other recovering from divorce, cross paths on the centuries-old Camino pilgrimage from France to Spain.

“The Chemin will change you. It changes everyone…”

The Chemin, also known as the Camino de Santiago, is a centuries-old pilgrim route that ends in Santiago de Compostela in northwest Spain. Every year, thousands of walkers—some devout, many not—follow the route that wends through quaint small villages and along busy highways alike, a journey unlike any other.

Zoe, an artist from California who’s still reeling from her husband’s sudden death, has impulsively decided to walk the Camino, hoping to find solace and direction. Martin, an engineer from England, is road-testing a cart of his own design…and recovering from a messy divorce. They begin in the same French town, each uncertain of what the future holds. Zoe has anticipated the physical difficulties of her trek, but she is less prepared for other challenges, as strangers and circumstances force her to confront not just recent loss, but long-held beliefs. For Martin, the pilgrimage is a test of his skills and endurance but also, as he and Zoe grow closer, of his willingness to trust others—and himself—again.

Smart and funny, insightful and romantic, Two Steps Forward reveals that the most important journeys we make aren’t measured in miles, but in the strength, wisdom, and love found along the way. Fans of The Rosie Project will recognize Graeme Simsion’s uniquely quirky and charming writing style.

ADD TO GOODREADS
Find the book on Amazon, HarperCollins, and Barnes & Noble

TwoStepsForward-Insta-8.jpg

About the Authors: GRAEME SIMSION is the author of the #1 bestseller The Rosie Project, which has been optioned for film by Sony Pictures, was a Globe and Mail Best Book of the Year and won the Australian Book Industry Association Book of the Year. The Rosie Effectwas also a #1 Globe and Mail bestseller, an instant New York Times bestseller and a People magazine Pick of the Week. Simsion’s most recent novel, The Best of Adam Sharp, has also been optioned for film. This is his first novel co-written with his wife, Anne Buist. Follow him on Twitter @GraemeSimsion.


Book Details:

Paperback: 384 pages
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks (May 1, 2018)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0062843117
ISBN-13: 978-0062843111

This post contains affiliate links, meaning I’ll receive a small commission should you purchase using those links. All opinions expressed are my own. I receive no compensation for reviews.